How to apply for an Australia Awards scholarship

By | March 3, 2024
Australia Awards scholarship

The Australia Awards Pacific Scholarships are a significant program that aims to empower individuals from Pacific Island nations. It provides opportunities for these individuals to study at universities in the Pacific region. The program aims to equip scholarship recipients with knowledge and skills to make a positive impact and contribute to the growth and development of their home countries.

The Australia Awards Pacific Scholarships are not only about providing financial assistance but also a strategic investment in developing skilled professionals in the Pacific. By supporting quality education, the program aims to create a group of educated and skilled leaders who can drive progress and contribute significantly to their nations.

This investment targets both the individual’s potential and the broader impact that these leaders can have on the overall development of the Pacific region.

Before you apply:

Confirm the application period for your country. Check the list of eligible countries to determine your eligibility, priority fields, and application process. Find the specific dates on the participating countries page.

If you plan to apply, thoroughly review the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook. It outlines the general eligibility criteria, selection methods, benefits, and obligations. Be aware that the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade may update the handbook without notice.

Some countries encourage and allow you to apply online while others require hard-copy applications. See your participating country profile for more information

Applying online

Refer to your relevant participating country profile for the link to the application portal. Please note that Indonesia and the Philippines do not use the Online Australia Scholarships Information System (OASIS). The link to applications for those countries can be found in their relevant Country Profile.

When you register online, you will be required to answer some questions to establish your eligibility. You will then be given a unique registration number, username and password.

It is not necessary for you to submit your application right away. Up to the specified closing date listed on the applicable participating nation profile, you may create a draft application form and make updates to it as well as your supporting materials.

Your application cannot be altered once it has been submitted. Applicants are strongly encouraged to apply online well in advance of the closing date. The days before the deadline are when OASIS is most used, therefore candidates could encounter delays.

Applying by mail

You have the option to apply by mail if you are unable to do so online. For contact information on how to get a hard copy application form and any additional templates, including referee reports (if required), please check your participating nation profile.

Before the deadline set by your nation, filled-out hard copy application forms and all necessary supporting papers must be submitted. Check each country’s opening and closing dates.

Australia Awards scholarship Participating countries


Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Timor-Leste, Vietnam.


Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Wallis and Futuna


Algeria, Benin, Botswana, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *