Rhodes Scholarship Selection Criteria, Eligibility and How To Apply

By | March 2, 2024
rhodes scholarship

Rhodes Scholarship Selection Criteria, Eligibility and How To Apply

The Rhodes Scholarship is a grant that covers all expenses and allows individuals from around the world to study as full-time graduate students at the prestigious University of Oxford.


Even though the scholarship application is demanding, it’s seen as a transformative experience that has helped many young people succeed. The scholarship welcomes applications from talented international students.

Rhodes Scholars embark on a multi-year journey in the UK, where they can pursue most full-time postgraduate programs offered by the prestigious University of Oxford.


History of Rhodes Scholarship

In 1902, Cecil John Rhodes founded the Rhodes Scholarship, a pioneering and notable program. Over a century later, the Rhodes Scholarships remain the most renowned global scholarship program, empowering exceptional individuals from various countries to pursue graduate studies at the University of Oxford, which consistently ranks as the world’s top university.

The Scholarship was established to select promising young leaders from across the globe who, by studying together at Oxford, would form strong relationships based on understanding and camaraderie, with the goal of improving the world.

Our esteemed reputation as academic leaders is not solely based on our founder’s controversial history. It is the profound impact of our Scholars that truly defines our legacy. The qualities we value in a Rhodes Scholar—exceptional intellect, compassion, and a drive to serve—continue to inspire and guide our mission, as they have for over a century.

Rhodes Scholarship Selection Criteria

The original principles used in selecting Rhodes Scholars in 1902 continue to shape the process today:

  • Academic excellence in literature and scholarship
  • Energy and initiative, evident in extracurricular activities like sports, music, debate, and the arts, especially when teamwork is involved
  • Integrity, bravery, dedication to responsibilities, empathy for the vulnerable, kindness, selflessness, and a sense of community
  • Strong moral character and leadership qualities, including a genuine concern for others

Rhodes Scholarship Selection Criteria, Eligibility and How To Apply

Rhodes Scholarship Eligibility Criteria


Rhodes Scholarships are typically open to citizens of various countries worldwide. Each country or region has its own specific eligibility criteria, and candidates must meet the requirements of their respective jurisdiction.

Academic Excellence:

Applicants are usually required to demonstrate exceptional academic achievements, including a strong academic record and a high GPA.

Age Limit:

Candidates generally need to be within a certain age range. The age limit can vary by constituency, so it is crucial to check the specific requirements for the country or region from which you are applying.

Degree Requirement:

Rhodes Scholarships are typically awarded for postgraduate studies at the University of Oxford. Applicants often need to have completed or be in the final year of their undergraduate degree, and some constituencies may specify the type of degree required.

Leadership and Character:

The Rhodes Scholarship looks for individuals with strong leadership qualities, a commitment to making a positive impact on the world, and high moral character. Active participation in extracurricular activities and community service is often considered.

English Language Proficiency:

Since the scholarship is for studying at the University of Oxford, candidates are usually required to demonstrate proficiency in the English language through standardized tests like the TOEFL or IELTS.

Intent to Return:

Some constituencies may require applicants to demonstrate a commitment to returning to their home country or region after completing their studies at Oxford.

Specific Constituency Requirements:

Each Rhodes Scholarship constituency may have additional, specific criteria or preferences. It is essential to carefully review the eligibility requirements outlined by the selection committee for the particular region or country.

How To Apply For Rhodes Scholarship

To apply, visit and follow the steps

Rhodes Scholarship Constituency Information

A constituency is a country, a group of countries, and/or territories, regions or states, grouped together for the purposes of administering scholarships.

Below is a list of the Rhodes constituencies and the number of Scholarships available for each. You can find more information about the constituencies by clicking on them.

  • Australia (9 Scholarships)
  • Bermuda (1 Scholarship)
  • Canada (11 Scholarships)
  • China (4 Scholarships)
  • Commonwealth Caribbean (1 Scholarship)Covering Anguilla, Antigua, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Montserrat, St Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent, Trindad and Tobago, and, the Turks and Caicos Islands
  • East Africa (1 Scholarship)Covering Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, South Sudan and Burundi
  • Germany (2 Scholarships)
  • Global (2 Scholarships)
  • Hong Kong SAR (1 Scholarship)
  • India (5 Scholarships)
  • Israel (2 Scholarships)
  • Jamaica (1 Scholarship)
  • Kenya (2 Scholarships)
  • Malaysia (1 Scholarship)
  • New Zealand (3 Scholarships)
  • Pakistan (2 Scholarships)
  • Saudi Arabia (2 Scholarships)
  • Singapore (1 Scholarship)
  • Southern Africa (10 Scholarships)Covering South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia and eSwatini
  • Syria Jordan Lebanon and Palestine SJLP (2 Scholarships)
  • United Arab Emirates (2 Scholarships)
  • United States (32 Scholarships)Covering the 50 states of the US, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. territories of American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands
  • West Africa (3 Scholarships)

    Covering Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, the island of Saint Helena, Senegal, Sierra Leone, São Tomé and Principe and Togo

  • Zambia (2 Scholarships)
  • Zimbabwe (2 Scholarships)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *